NCP announced heads and co-heads of different departments

NCP announced heads and co-heads of different departments

Nepal Communist Party (NCP) has moved ahead to complete its unification process with the appointment of heads and co-heads of 32 departments.

NCP had not publicly announced the names of heads and co-heads of its departments because of the differences over the appointment of the chief of its School Department.

Ishwar Pokharel, Deputy Prime Minister and Defence Minister had intensely lobbied to steer the School Department. However, members of the erstwhile CPN-Maoist Centre were suspicious in handing over the post to Pokharel, as he was for adopting ‘people’s multi-party democracy’ as the party’s key political ideology.

With the appointment of the School Department’s head, the party has now overcome a major hurdle in the party unification process. It needs to divide work among its central committee members and appoint some of the heads of sister wings to wrap up the unification process. Some of the prominent NCP leaders are former PM Madhav Kumar Nepal, former deputy PM Bam Dev Gautam, and former PM Jhalanath Khanal. The NCP also added co-in-charges in provinces.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *