Litterateurs were awarded on Bhanu Jayanti

Litterateurs were awarded on Bhanu Jayanti

The government has awarded 42 litterateurs for their lifelong contribution to Nepali literature on the occasion of 206th Bhanu Jayanti, the birth anniversary of Bhanu Bhakta Acharya, the pioneer poet of Nepali language.

Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli awarded the literary figures at a program that was organized by Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation in the capital. Awards such as National and Provincial Talent Award, Mahakabi Devkota Award, Bhagat Sarwajeet Manab Maryada National Award, and Gopal Prasad Rimal National Award were given away.

Keshab Prasad Upadhyaye and Bhisma Upreti were awarded the Gopal Prasad Rimal National Award. Meanwhile, Biswobi Mohan Shrestha, Devi Prasad Subedi, Nayan Raj Pandey, Jibendra Dev Giri, and Rochak Ghimere were awarded Mahakabi Devkota Award.

Bhagat Sarwajeet Manab Maryada National Award was awarded to Radendra Barali, Bhadra Ghale and Ranjana Jha. National Talent Award was given to Gitu Giri, Jeevan Sharma, Govinda Narayan Jyapu and Ambar Singh Basnyat.

Bhanu Jayanti

In language and literature genre, Padam Kumar Rai, Chandra Sekhar Upadhaye, Sambhu Kumar Regmi, Devi Prasad Bajbasi, Bindu Sharma, Lal Bahadur Khatri and Bhojraj Bhatta were awarded.

Speaking at the award giving ceremony PM Oli said Bhanu Jayanti could not be celebrated with much enthusiasm this year due to the havoc created by natural disasters for the past few days in the country. He was later given a certificate of appreciation for his contribution to Nepali literature. Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Defence Ishwar Pokharel handed over the certificate.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *